How to learn Futsal

Argentina beat Russia in Futsal World Cup 2016 final

Thursday, 19/09/2019, 16:38 GMT+7 - Lượt xem: 273

Argentina won the FIFA Futsal World Cup for the first time with a 5-4 defeat of Russia in Cali, Colombia.

Beaten in the World Cup semis of 1996, 2000 and 2008, Russia got the better of Iran this time around to set up their showdown with fellow first-time finalists Argentina, who had already beaten European opposition in Kazakhstan, Ukraine and Portugal.

Having lost the last three UEFA Futsal EURO finals, 1999 continental champions Russia were hoping for better on the global stage, and led through Eder Lima in the 16th minute. But Argentina were level within 26 seconds and took the lead just before half-time when Pescara's Leandro Cuzzolino converted a ten-metre penalty.

Eder Lima, the 2012 top scorer, equalised in the 22nd minute but within 75 seconds Alan Brandi of Benfica had scored twice. As Russia chased the game late on Constantino Vaporaki, whose brother Alamiro had got Argentina's equaliser, scored from inside his own half, though Dmitri Lyskov pulled one back and Eder Lima completed the first Futsal World Cup final hat-trick with a ten metre penalty, but that was with 15 seconds left.

In the quarter-finals Russia had avenged their UEFA Futsal EURO 2016 final defeat by Spain while Iran had knocked out holders Brazil. Spain and Brazil between them had on all six previous editions and Italy, the United States and the Netherlands were the only other previous finalists.

Portugal were beaten 4-3 on penalties against Iran in the third-place play-off having seen a 2-0 lead wiped out in the 40 minutes while Spain and Azerbaijan fell in the quarter-finals and Kazakhstan, Ukraine and Italy in the round of 16. Ricardinho of Portugal was top scorer on 12 goals, two ahead of Falcão, playing in his fifth and final World Cup for Brazil. Argentina captain Wilhelm of Benfica was named best player.

1_14Argentina - The champion of FIFA Futsal World Cup 2016.

How the knockout phase went

- Round of 16:
Russia 7-0 Vietnam, Medellin
Colombia 0-0 (2-3pens) Paraguay, Cali
Brazil 4-4 (2-3pens) Iran, Bucaramanga
Spain 5-2 Kazakhstan, Medellin
Portugal 4-0 Costa Rica, Cali
Argentina 1-0 (aet) Ukraine, Bucaramanga
Thailand 8-13 (aet) Azerbaijan, Medellin
Italy 3-4 (aet) v Egypt, Cali

- Quarter-finals:
Paraguay 3-4 (aet) Iran, Bucaramanga
Russia 6-2 Spain, Cali
Argentina 5-0 Egypt, Medellin
Portugal 3-2 Azerbaijan, Cali

- Semi-finals:
Iran 3-4 Russia, Medellin
Argentina 5-2 Portugal, Cali

- Third-place play-off:
Iran 2-2 (4-3 penalty) Portugal, Cali

- Final:
Russia 4-5 Argentina, Cali

Top scorer: Ricardinho (Portugal) 12

World Cup roll of honour

2016: Argentina 5-4 Russia (hosts: Colombia)
2012: Brazil 3-2 aet Spain (Thailand)
2008: Brazil 2-2, 4-3 pens Spain (Brazil)
2004: Spain 2-1 Italy (Chinese Taipei)
2000: Spain 4-3 Brazil (Guatemala)
1996: Brazil 6-4 Spain (Spain)
1992: Brazil 4-1 United States (Hong Kong)
1989: Brazil 2-1 Netherlands (Netherlands)


Tin liên quan

Các tin cũ hơn

A memorable win for Iran, because this is the first time in history they get the bronze medal at FIFA Futsal World Cup.
Beat Russia in the final game, Argentina become the champion of FIFA Futsal World Cup 2016.
The line-up for October's main round is set after 16 teams progressed from the preliminary round on the road to Lithuania.
Lithuania has been selected to stage the 2020 FIFA Futsal World Cup, the first in Europe since 1996, and will be joined by six other UEFA nations in the finals.
FIFA Ranking (9/2019)
Rank Country Point






test giải đấu
Từ 01/02/2020 đến 29/02/2020
  • Liên hệ
    Support 01
    Support 02
Hotline: 849.6666.0182
Support 01
(Phản hồi - Góp ý)
Support 02
(Phản hồi - Góp ý)
Surfing by mobile phone?
Click on mobile number to make a call.